Founding President Hon. Albert M. Rosenblatt Hands Gavel to Hon. Jonathan Lippman, New President of the Historical Society of the New York Courts

Rosenblatt offers hand-made gavel to Lippman

Photo: Outgoing president and founding member of the Society Hon. Albert M. Rosenblatt offers hand-made gavel to our new President, Hon. Jonathan Lippman, and new Chair of the Board, Stephen P. Younger at our annual meeting in January 2019.

(L-R): Hon. Jonathan Lippman, Hon. Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick, Hon. Albert M. Rosenblatt, Stephen P. Younger, Marilyn Marcus

We knew the day would come but it still feels a bit surreal. Hon. Albert M. Rosenblatt, President of the Historical Society of the New York Courts for the past 16 years, has turned over presidential leadership to Hon. Jonathan Lippman, former NYS Chief Judge and Of Counsel at Latham & Watkins LLP. The announcement was made during the annual meeting of the Society’s Board of Trustees in mid-January. Judge Rosenblatt, retired Associate Judge at the Court of Appeals, co-founded the Society in 2002 with then-Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye.

The Board also elected Stephen P. Younger, Partner at Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP, as Chair of the Board, replacing Hon. Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick, Of Counsel at Greenberg Traurig LLP and former NYS Court of Appeals Associate Judge.

During the annual meeting, the Society’s Executive Director Marilyn Marcus read to the Board letters from Chief Judge Janet DiFiore to Judges Rosenblatt and Ciparick recognizing their service and commitment. The Chief Judge expressed her high regard and warm thoughts to them both.

Judge Rosenblatt presented a hand-made gavel to Judge Lippman and to Mr. Younger during the announcement.

“I appreciate the Board’s confidence placed in me throughout all these years,” said Judge Rosenblatt at the meeting. “My congratulations to Judge Lippman and Steve and my best wishes on this marvelous new leadership.”

Judge Ciparick commented “I’m very grateful for the friendship and support from our Board and for having been a part of this wonderful organization for six years. Judge Rosenblatt and I will remain involved with the Society as Board members and look forward to working with Judge Lippman and Steve on this new chapter of the Society.”

“When it comes to the heart and soul of the Society, nobody represents that better than Judge Kaye and Judge Rosenblatt,” said Judge Lippman. “For me it’s a great honor to succeed him. I thank Judge Ciparick, who I had the pleasure of working with at the Court of Appeals, for the great job she’s done as Chair of the Board. Steve and I will do our best to follow in their footsteps.”

Mr. Younger said to the Board “many of you have been involved with the Society since its founding in 2002, and at the time, there was no idea what the Society would accomplish. All we have achieved has been thanks to Judge Rosenblatt. Thank you Judge Ciparick for your leadership and your friendship. Judge Lippman and I have big shoes to fill.”

In recognition of their commitment to the Society, Judge Rosenblatt was named President Emeritus and Judge Ciparick was named Chair Emeritus.

The Society is grateful for Judge Rosenblatt and Judge Ciparick’s many years of dedication to preserving and protecting the legal history of New York State and we are looking forward to the Lippman Era!

Product added to cart

No products in the cart.